Nat Weaver


Mercedes Masterson Detective Stories is a noir series of books that follows the cases, friends, and colleagues of private investigator Mercedes Masterson that takes place in or around the fictional city of Babylon. Mercedes is a former Babylon Police detective and State Bureau of Investigations agent who goes into the private sector after a decade of fighting police corruption and organized crime.

The series addresses issues such as racism, police corruption, organized crime, and domestic terrorism. The books also include mental health, LGBTQ, and racial minority representation.

The Books

Sweet Sixteen Killer bookcover

Sweet Sixteen Killer

The first book introduces us to Mercedes Masterson just as she’s quitting her job as an agent with the State Bureau of Investigations to start her own private investigative firm. Also at that moment, a serial killer starts up his career.

Meet Mercedes Masterson: A private investigator who marches to the beat of her own grim drummer. She is hard nosed, keen eyed, and doesn’t take crap from anyone, except her own personal demons.

Her Last Halloween bookcover

Her Last Halloween

It’s Halloween 1992 in Old Towne. The forecast is cold and misty. Twelve-year-old Mercedes Masterson, who has been quietly suffering with the voice of a grown woman in her head, prepares with her family for the evening’s festivities. A family that has been slowly growing apart from one another over the past few years.

What will the evening hold for Mercedes on Her Last Halloween?

Les maniaques.

Sweet Sixteen Killer by Nathan Weaver

Jonah of Olympic

Coming in 2024

Mercedes Masterson takes on a missing person’s case while struggling with her own personal identity.

Agent Dean Ekron of the State Bureau has a growing list of missing persons on his desk. One of those missing persons is African American woman Jonah Keshandra Buckham.

Perry Cate interviews and helps an aging influential Hollywood startlet in her coming out post mortem.

Jonah’s husband Charlie Buckham is desparate and as he dries up his last resources, he hires Mercedes to find his loving and devoted wife. Soon after things go sideways.

Sweet Sixteen Killer bookcover

Winter Wonderland


Sweet Sixteen Killer bookcover


Stirring the pot…


No really. Signup and get the latest news on the series and other good stuff worth sharing your email for.